Since 1943, Freedom House has been conferring awards to those who contributed tremendously to the fight for freedom, equality and justice. Past honorees include the 14th Dalai Lama, Winston Churchill and Martin Luther King Jr. among others.

In 2020, Freedom House gave the award to Hong Kong’s Pro-Democracy Movement:

“As the CCP government has heightened repression at home and expanded efforts to export its authoritarianism abroad, Hong Kong’s pro-democracy movement — a leaderless, people-led effort —has inspired the world. Two million people have turned out to stand together in defense of the rights and freedoms they are supposed to enjoy under Hong Kong law. The CCP’s sudden imposition of a repressive new national security law has made these efforts tremendously dangerous. Yet the people of Hong Kong remain committed to defending their rights for future generations in new and creative ways.”

Source: Freedom House