Three Levels & Eleven Standards on Happiness – Part 3

Has traditional Chinese culture already provided systematic solution to the various problems and issues existing today? Such solution has been testified over the past thousands of years. If we look back now, the low-grade happiness will realize five fortunes focusing on external substance, and mid-grade happiness will focus on the three types of harmony from the psychological perspective.

Now we will present the third level of happiness, high-grade happiness. High-grade happiness is defined as Inner Saint and Outer King. High-grade happiness establishes three immortalities including humane conduct, works and deeds, as well as words. Humane conduct is essentially the model behavior; words and deeds represent the magnificent career, and words represent the complete system of theories, which can be understood and followed by the others in the future. Eventually everybody will die but people achieving high-grade happiness will retain forever over the history of mankind from the spiritual perspective. Externally, high-grade happiness will be measured whether you have become the best within your domain. It will not be measured by how much wealth you have accumulated; rather, it will be measured by whether you can become a model or benchmark adopted by others within your domain. Whether a person is great or not is defined whether his achievement can benefit not only himself but also others. Overall, high-grade happiness has integrated the low-grade and mid-grade happiness and will focus on the contribution made to the society, nation and mankind.

The benchmark of a saint differs among Confucianism, Taoism, Buddhism and Christianity. However, the overlap focuses on whether any contribution made to the mankind, such as Mr. Miles Kwok. Traditional Chinese culture encourages the young generation to make determination rather than desire. Determination is composed of scholars and mindset. Going back to ancient China, scholars are deemed as people with integrity, ideality and in compliance with the traditional culture.  Now it is quite clear the happiness as part of Chinese traditional culture has very high and complete standards. In addition to other two levels of happiness presented in the previous parts; the three levels of happiness are integrated into the entire lifetime. In connection to the two different kinds of life path mentioned in another topic, happiness will be built up during the childhood and mid-age, and eventually enjoyed during the senior age.

The happiness interpreted by traditional Chinese culture is different from those in existing CCP culture and western culture. The happiness interpreted by the CCP is from the perspective of animal. The happiness interpreted by the western culture placed heavy weight on physical matters and sort of weight on the faith. Whoever has faith will eventually go to the heaven after death. Some religious folks in the West often criticize Chinese about the faith. In fact, Chinese do possess different kinds of faith focusing on the truth and wisdom. Chinese do not simply rely on a god; rather Chinese desire to become the god because every single person is backed up by the god, and every person has his own potential. Therefore, Chinese are looking forward to becoming the saints that also represent the key difference between Chinese style faith and that included in the western culture. Therefore, Chinese may take the advantage of ancient wisdom and share that with others. Whoever can understand the Way of the Universe can eventually become kind-hearted, happy, noble and smart in order to make as much contribution as possible to the history of mankind.

Author:Lily 銘鵬

Translator: Neal

Proof-Reader: Squirrel

Original opinion article by Himalaya Gfarm Vancouver – 2020/12/14

Disclaimer: This article only represents the author’s view. Gnews is not responsible for any legal risks.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments