EU and 32 Other Countries Canceled the Preferential Trade Treatment of Communist China

【Japan Himalaya League】 Author: Kevin wang  Translator: Ranting

As of December 1, the European Union and 32 other countries will no longer grant GSP trade treatment to Communist China. As of now, the only countries that still retain the GSP trade treatment for the CCP are Norway, New Zealand and Australia.

The General Administration of Customs (GAC) of the People’s Republic of China issued a notice on its official website on October 25, stating that since the 27 member states of the European Union, as well as the United Kingdom, Canada, Turkey, Ukraine and Liechtenstein, will no longer grant GSP tariff preferences to the People’s Republic of China from December 1, the issuance of GSP certificates of origin will cease and only non-preferential certificates of origin can be applied for.

According to a November 2 report in the Epoch Times, the Communist China Customs no longer issues GSP certificates of origin (Form A), meaning that goods exported from Communist China no longer enjoy tariff preferences on the basis of Form A. That’s why the document is gradually being stopped for the relevant countries.

Image from the web

According to the report, in recent years, more and more countries have announced the elimination of GSP treatment for the Communist China. Since July 1, 2014, Switzerland has stopped GSP preferences for Communist China; since April 1, 2019, Japan has also stopped giving GSP benefits to Communist China’s goods; in addition, Communist China’s export goods will no longer enjoy tariff preferences from Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus (member countries of the Eurasian Economic Union) since October 12, 2021.

In addition, in the United States, several members of Congress have introduced the China Trade Relations Act (CTRA), which would strip the CCP of its “permanent normal trade relations” (PNTR) status, i.e., revoke the CCP’s permanent MFN status and return to the pre-2001 system.

As of today, the only countries that still grant GSP treatment to Communist China are Norway, New Zealand and Australia.

Original Article Link:

Posted by: Ranting

Disclaimer: This article only represents the author’s view. Gnews is not responsible for any legal risks.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments